William Bullock
Industrial Design

wbullock@illinois.edu | CV

Teaching areas:

Industrial Design, Sustainability, Product Design, Product Development

Research areas:

Sustainability, Product Development


BFA Industrial Design, Auburn University and MFA Design, University of Kansas

William Bullock is Professor of Industrial Design and Director of the Product Interaction Research Laboratory (PIRL) at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (UIUC). PIRL links education and research design in the classroom where advanced students from engineering, design and marketing collaborate to conduct product development studies for industry. As an affiliate faculty member with the Illinois Sustainable Technology Center (ISTC) his current research focuses on design for the environment and development of sustainable product designs. At ISTC he is helping build the Sustainable Electronics Initiative (SEI), a consortium dedicated to the development and implementation of more sustainable systems for designing, producing and remanufacturing and recycling electronic devices (www.sustainelectronics.illinois.edu).

He teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in product design and development for over a decade and recently developed the first course at the university on sustainable product design. This past year he collaborated with engineering colleagues to develop a new course on the topic of electronic waste (e-waste) and organized the annual international electronic waste (e-waste) design competition (www.ewaste.illinois.edu). His career spans three decades as an academician, administrator and practitioner and includes the direction and advancement of industrial design programs at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, The Georgia Institute of Technology and Auburn University. He is an active Fellow in the Industrial Designers Society of America and a National Association of Schools of Art and Design accreditation evaluator. Bill has served several terms on the IDSA National Education Council and is current Chair of its SAGE section and Vice Chair of the Design Foundation.

Selected Work